Dealing with Stress as a Student developing into a Young Professional

Photobucket

Stress…. that evil little word that effects almost everyone on a daily basis. When I was younger just starting university I didn’t get as stressed as I can get now. Things were easier then. I worried about my social calendar far more than one should of. Now-a-days I am lucky to go out once a week and I don’t have priorities like a family or animal to keep me in.

Ever since I came to the realization that I need to “grow up,” get a full-time job and begin to repay my student debt things started to get stressful. Making the transition from a student to a young professional is very very difficult. You need time and money to project a professional image of yourself, but you are barely affording your rent and might be pulling all-nighters to finish assignments.

How can you handle stress?

1. Take risks – Successful people do not become successful without taking the risk. Yes, there is a possibility that you will not get the job or you will not like the position, but if you didn’t at least try I may regret it later. If you have an opportunity take it.

2. Give yourself me time – You can work all hours in the day, but do not overwork yourself. Make sure you do something for you once a week or even once a day. Read a girly novel such as Emily Griffin’s Love the one your With or see a movie with your friends.

3. Be a forward thinker – Always think about what you are working towards and how much that goal means to you. Do not dwell in the past, keep moving forward, or else you will continue to indulge in negative behaviour.

4. Keep positive – If you ask yourself depressing questions, you will get depressing answers. Rather than what if and why me, ask what can I do and how can I move forward.

5. Find an activity that calms you – For some it is going for a walk, cranking up your favourite song, practice yoga, or light a candle. Whatever it is, do it consistency. Give yourself a break to avoid a breakdown.

These are just some of the things I do on a daily basis to avoid stress, but we are all human and it can get the best of us sometimes. To keep myself focused I purchased this book, “The Bounce Back book: How to thrive in the face of adversity, setbacks and losses” by Karen Salmonsohn. I keep it on my bookshelf and whenever I have had a truly bad day and none of my little tricks are working, I read this book and it helps me realign my thinking. It has 75 tips to help you bounce back and usually by number 5 I start feeling better.


5 thoughts on “Dealing with Stress as a Student developing into a Young Professional

  1. kerribirtch says:

    Hi Katie,

    Great advice. And just a heads up, I hope you don’t ever feel alone in this whole ‘growing up’ thing. It’s actually sort of funny when I think about being a teenager and wanting so much to be a grown up. Now I’d give anything to be a teenager again (well, only some days).

    But one thing I would add to your list is to make time to have fun!! I’ve had a rough go the past few months and finnnally went out with a few friends last week and couldn’t believe how refreshing it was to let loose and forget about the stress and the work and the bills and the school.

    Take care!

    -K

  2. Amanda Laird says:

    This is a great post, Kathryn.

    My advice for beating stress is to love what you do. It’s cheesy but true; if you love what you do, you’ll never work a day in your life. Before I joined CNW I had fewer responsibilities yet I was always stressed out, probably because I wasn’t happy. Working a long day only to come home and work a little more is easier to swallow when you love what you’re working on, where you’re working and who you’re working with.

    Good luck!

    akl.

  3. kathrynboland says:

    Thanks both of you for your replies!

    @kerri – I definitely need time to hang out with my friends and I am really looking forward to getting away for Podcamp Toronto and going home for a day. Dealing with two jobs, school, interning and having a life can be hard. One of things that sparked this post was the car accident I got in while in a school rental car. Not something I needed. But I read through my book and have kept focused! Are you coming out to Podcamp? Maybe I will get to meet you personally!

    @amanda – great advice! that is totally what I am working towards. Soon enough I will be there!

  4. mariabaum says:

    Thanks for posting this! As a college student with finals approaching it is always nice to be reminded of how to stay stress-free (if thats possible). I think many of college students have a lot of anxiety and stress about not only school but social situations as well. I think everyone should be reminded to take a step back, take a deep breath and relax!

  5. amandajaidynne says:

    Thank you so much for this post.
    I am a student right now, approaching graduation in the near future, and I sometimes get really bogged down by anxieties about where and when to apply for jobs. It can seem very overwhelming and intimidating for students trying to make a name for themselves in the field. It’s always important to remain focussed on physical and emotional health even in the midst of stress, and your advice was very useful. It is always difficult to balance the present tasks with concerns for the future as a student. Remaining focussed and doing activities that rejuvinate the mind and body can work wonders. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

