Grow up!

Joseph Thornley, of Pro PR, further the discussed the necessary educational requirements for public relations practitioners here.

I have been struggling with this for a while, PR diploma or M.A. in Communications, or both? I want to work in PR, but I also have a personal goal of getting my masters. I keep wondering how necessary it will be for now.. or for later. But what really got me was Ryan Anderson’s comment to Joe’s post:

Education is important, but being over-educated is as bad as being undereducated in my mind. There’s a fine line between the quest for knowledge and delaying life.

I think Ryan is soooo right.

Delaying life…. Is that what I am really doing? I have wondered why I continue to research different types of programs and courses I could enroll in. I am so scared to start my career. Even working part-time as a marketing assistant scares me sometimes, I feel like I shouldn’t be trusted with responsibility, I am just a student. But there is no better way to learn then to do it.

Going to college was my way to perfect my writing skills and general pr practices. I justified more education by telling myself that working without understanding the practices first will look poorly on me. No one has the time to teach me everything, so go to school. I am definitely not regretting going to college for public relations at all! But it is not required, especially after a four-year communications degree.

But what I have learned is that, learning by actually working is the best form of education. I have been volunteering with CPRS since October and it has been very beneficial. I have been learning in a safe environment, where it is safe to learn and get better. I have grown relationships with some leading professionals in the Ottawa area who have trusted me to be a Volunteer Coordinator for our upcoming conference.

I think my goals for getting a masters in London, England will have to wait. I have lots of university debt that could get paid off by actually working.

I have no doubt in my mind I can do all these things. It is just that, getting a full-time job means I am an adult and play time is over.

One thought on “Grow up!

  1. astepahead says:

    I know how you feel. I’ve been considering getting my Masters in Communications, even though I will competent enough from graduating with a major in PR and double minor in journalism and communications.

    But instead, I have set my goals to getting my APR. That might be something you may want to consider as well. And to even attempt to get an APR, you must have at least 5 years experience.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

