Struggles of entering a PR program

This blog is my confessions of my journey to career in public relations. Thus, I think it is very important for me to journal my struggles. In the last few months I have been trying really hard to finish up by B.A., apply for college, move out, and be a bridesmaid. Overwhelmed, I got through it all, but everything didn’t turn out how I planned it.

I thought it would be very easy for me to get into a post-graduate program for public relations in Toronto, but it wasn’t. I have done very well in university and have actively pursued professors, networking, and volunteer opportunities. But for some reason, I did not get it. For now I truly believe that I did not get in because I was not supposed to live in Toronto. I do not believe that the small tests the colleges gave me could truly examine my potential as a public relations consultant. Not only has this roadblock strengthen my desire to work in this industry, but it has encouraged me to actively improve my skills.

Right now, I am taking a public relations writing course at Ryerson’s Chang School. I really enjoy the course a lot. I hope I can improve my writing skills with this course to get into a post graduate program in the Winter. I still have the opportunity to get accept to Algonquin’s Public Relations program and should be hearing from them shortly.

I am stuck at a roadblock. I still have many things I want to accomplish and I have a hard time waiting for things to happen. I just really really hope I can get into this program for September. At least then, I can feel as though I am working towards something and improving myself, rather then sitting at home saving money. I just think I have a hard time coming home, because I have spent the last four years learning and growing, and when I do come home it feels as though everything I have worked hard for is gone.

I just hope that things start to turn around soon because it has been kinda lame lately.

Leave a Reply

